Not part of today’s plan…

There’s something freakishly convenient about the camera on my iPhone. It’s more readily available than my Nikon. I have no problem with keeping it on my lap or on the console of my car. My Nikon, not so much. I handle my Nikon with the care of a mother handling her newborn child. My iPhone has the freedom of a 19 year-old with keys to a Ferrari while the Nikon peers out the window waiting patiently until I take it out to play. Freedom comes at a price…a much cheaper price. My iPhone was acquired a la upgrade privilege from Sir AT&T and cost less than dinner with my husband at the local pizza parlor while my bouncing baby D700 came at the tally of one month’s mortgage for me and a gal pal. Yes, I mean two mortgages.

Something’s gonna have to give. My paparazzi senses start tingling and I immediately reach for my iPhone. If I waste one moment thinking about grabbing the Nikon, the iPhone misses the shot. I can only relate this to tattling on my brothers when I was a child – if one suffered, we all suffered. There was really no point in tattling unless I too, wanted to suffer the wrath.

I’ve been thinking about bringing home a new “baby” to give the D700 some freedom but I’m not sure if I want to give up my own freedom. Okay, so I’m starting to understand why some people only want one child. I’m also starting to appreciate why someone would purchase a fancy car, spend a mint on it and not drive it daily. I don’t think that I want more responsibility and I don’t think that my Nikon wants to be dangling out of a window like a reckless teenager.

I reckon the iPhone will be my adrenaline junkie, GXS-R roadie and partner in roller coaster chasing. The Nikon will be spared and savor es for finer things.

(Snagged these on I95 with the iPhone today)

20130323-111050.jpg

20130323-111129.jpg

20130323-111109.jpg

Leave a Reply

